نمي ثقتك بنفسك عبر ممارسة الجيو-جيتسو

نختبر جميعاً في مشوار الحياة عقباتٍ وصعوبات، حيث علينا جميعاً إيجاد الطرق المناسبة للتغلب عليها والاستمرار. في العام 2012، وجدت نفسي بعيدة جداً عن البيت، أختبر بنفسي عقباتي وصعوباتي، فكنت في بلدٍ له ثقافة مختلفة كلياً عن الثقافة التي ترعرعت عليها. ذهبت من الحار الرطب في لبنان إلى البلاد الجليدية في مونتريال. وبالطبع قد تتساءلون عن السبب الذي جعلني أنتقل إلى البلد حيث تقل فيه الحرارة عن الصفر، ولكنني كنت أقوم بما آمنت به، بالرغم من عدم ايمان الآخرين بقدرتي أو هدفيكنت أتدرب للتغلب على السلبيات، وإيجاد النمو الداخلي، الصحة الأفضل وفي النهاية، اكتشاف السعادة الحقيقية.

ستجدون أدناه قصتي عن كيف تغلبت على الرافضين ووجدت سعادتي الحقيقية عبر رياضة الجيو-جيتسو البرازيلية.

بدأ مشواري في التمارين تحت وصاية فراس ذهبي، في الصالة العالمية المعروفة والمتخصصة بالتريستار، حيث تدربت إلى جانب الراغبين في تعلم أصول الفنون القتالية وقدامى المحاربين. وعندما بدأت، كان لدي هدفين فقط هما خسارة الوزن والحصول على الشكل الخارجي الذي كنت أرغبه. لم يكن لي أي فكرة عن كيف ستتغير أهدافي هذه بشكلٍ كبير طوال المشوار.

كنت أعلّم اليوغا بالفعل وكان لدي فكرة عامة عن الفنون القتالية بأنها عدوانية قليلة، ولكنني كنت قد اعتمدت على أنظمة غذائية مختلفة، وكان يتعذر عليّ الوصول إلى أهدافي. فماذا كان لدي لأخسره؟ من هنا، بدأت بالكيكبوكسينغ أولاً وبعد ذلك، انتقلت على المياو تاي. وبعد مرور ثلاث سنوات على التدرب، كنت أشعر بأنه كان لا يزال هناك شيء ناقص، وهنا تعرفت على رياضة الجيو-جيتسو البرازيلية. في هذا الوقت، جاءت النقطة المحوريّة في حياتي.

ما هو إذاً الجيو-جيتسو؟ بحسب رينزو غارسيي: ” هو فن قتالي يتمحور حول القدرة على السيطرة على الخصم ومقاومته بطرق تجبره على الاستسلام. للسيطرة والتغلب على من حجمه أكبر، يكمن السر في القوة والعدوانية مع الأقل حجماً. ويتم ذلك عن طريق الاستفادة من التحفيز المرتفع، والقبضة وموقعك بالنسبة لخصمك. ”

في الأسابيع الأولى من بداية التمارين، لم تشكل أي من التقنيات المعتمدة، أي معنى بالنسبة لي، كنت أشعر بالضياع وكأنني كنت أدخل إلى عالم لا أنتمي إليه. ولجعل الأمور أسوأ، وبخني شاب في صالة الرياضة في أحد الأيام، قائلاً بأنه لا يمكنني القيام بأي شيء وكنت أفتقد للمرونة التي تسمح لي بالتقدم. وكنت بالوقت نفسه أتعامل مع الرافضين لما أقوم به في حياتي الشخصية. في هذا الوقت كنت أبلغ الـ35 سنة ولا يمكنني تذكر كم من المرات سمعت جملة “ألست كبيرة للقيام بهكذا أمر؟” شكل ما قاله هذا الشاب إذاً صفعة لثقتي بنفسي، فقررت طلب المشورة من مدربي ومعرفة ما إذا كان ينبغي على أن أستسلم. فكانت نصيحته كالتالي: “أعطني ستة أشهر، وبعد ذلك يمكنك أن تقرري”. وفي الواقع وبعد مرور ستة أشهر، تلقيت شريط ثالث إلى حزامي الأبيض وبعد عام، حصلت على الحزام الأزرق.

اتضح إنني لست كبيرة للقيام بهكذا أمر، كما ولا ينقصكم أي شيء أيضاً للقيام بما تريدونه. لا تصغوا لما يقوله الرافضون، وتذكروا أن ما يمنعكم من القيام بما تريدونه هو الحدود التي تضعوها لأنفسكم! هناك دائماً طريقة لتحقيق ما تريدونه. كلّ ما عليكم القيام به هو أن تؤمنوا بنفسكم وأن تكونوا ما أنتم عليه!

انتقالاً إلى اليوم، عدت إلى لبنان، حبي الأوّل وبيتي، أتابع مشواري في Atos Training تحت وصاية دانييل هيلال. وفي كل مرة أمارس فيها الجيو-جيتسو أتذكر بأنها ليست رياضة فقط، هي علاج، نوع من التأمل، هي ما يسمح لي بالعودة إلى نفسي.

سيعطيكي هذا النوع من الرياضة صوت عندما تفقدي صوتك، والضعف ليس خيار، فعليك أن تكوني قوياً. وإذا لم تكوني قوياً، ستصبحين هكذا حتماً! كل امرأة بحاجة للدفاع عن نفسها من أي نوع من التعذيب جسدياً أكان أو معنوياً. وأنا أدري من تجربتي الخاصة أن الجيو-جيتسو سيؤمن لك الثقة التي تحتاجين إليها والقدرة للدفاع عن نفسك واستخدام قدرة الغير للتغلب عليهم. نعم! يقوم الجيو-جيتسو بتحفيز ثقتكم بنفسكم، هي رياضة روحية وبدنية، ولن تخسروا الوزن الزائد فقط، بل ستدربون عقلكم على أن يبقى ساكناً وإيجاد الحلول المناسبة لأصعب الأوضاع التي قد توجهونها.

ليست الجيو-جيتسو البرازيلية رياضة بدنية فقط؛ هي نمط حياة، تعلم المرء الاحترام والالتزام والتواضع والمثابرة والاهتمام، وهي قيم نحتاجها جميعاً للحصول على حياة ذات معني ودافع! أيها الأهل، سجلوا فتياتكم في صفوف الفنون القتالية هذه، قوموا بتعليمهن بأن يكنّ أقوياء ومليئات بالثقة. اسمحوا لهن بكسر الحواجز وعلموهن بأنه يمكنهن أن يكن مكتفيات بوضعهن. سيتعلمن كيفية الدفاع عن أنفسهن وبالتالي سيتغلبن على كل العقبات.

ولكل المرات التي قال لي أحد: “أنت قويّة جداً، أتمنى أن أكون مثلك!”

أقول إنه بالطبع يمكنكم! عليكم الإيمان بقدراتكم! كونوا صبورين ولا تستسلموا.

ليس الأمر بالمشوار السهل، فمررت بالكثير من الأوقات حيث كنت أريد الاستسلام، لكنني بدلاً من ذلك، وجدت نفسي في الصالة أمارس التمارين مرة بعد مرة، إلى حين تمكني من ذلك!

هذا ليس كل شيء، مجتمع الجيو-جيتسو مجتمع داعم، وستتعرفون على أصدقاء من كل أنحاء العالم. لا تنسوا أن المجتمع في قيد التوسع والمزيد من النساء يسجلن فيه، فلما لا تسجلي فيه أو تسجلي بناتك؟!

أنا في أواخر الثلاثينات، حائزة على حزام أزرق، أتدرب 4 مرات في الأسبوع وأسجل في المنافسات بقدر الإمكان. أعلم أنه إذا كان باستطاعتي تحقيق ذلك، فباستطاعتكن أيضاً. هناك قول مأثور في الجيو-جيتسو عليم تذكره دائماً “ليس هناك خسارة في الجيو-جيتسو، أنت تربح أو تتعلم.” فلنتعلم إذاً ونتغلب على مصاعب الحياة سوياً!

Leave a Reply

Jiu–Jitsu, the Key to Empowerment?

“There is no losing in jiu jitsu. You either win or you learn.” Carlson Gracie Sr.

The road of life is long and filled with obstacles and we all have our own unique roadblocks we must learn to navigate around. In 2012, I found myself far away from home navigating my own roadblocks. I was in a country with a culture that was vastly different than I was accustomed. I went from the humid heat of Lebanon to walking through the freezing temperatures of Montréal. Why would I be out in subzero temperatures, you might ask? I was doing what no one believed I could or should do. I was training to beat the odds, to find personal growth, better health, and ultimately, true happiness.

This is the story of how I defied the naysayers and found my own happiness through Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

My Journey started training under Firas Zahabi, at the world-renowned Tristar gym, where I trained besides the likes of aspiring mixed martial arts fighters and UFC veterans. When I started out, I had two simple goals: lose weight and get into shape. I had no idea how drastically those goals would change along the way.

I had already been teaching yoga and my initial thoughts were that martial arts were a bit too aggressive. But, I had tried so many diets before and lacked the discipline to make the changes. What did I have to lose? So, I started with kickboxing added some boxing, and later Muay Thai. After three years of training, something was still missing for me and then I was introduced to Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. That’s when my life changed drastically.

Lets start with a small definition about Brazilian Jiu Jitsu: “ BJJ is a grappling-based martial art whose central theme is the skill of controlling a resisting opponent in ways that force him to submit. To control and overcome greater size, strength and aggression with lesser size and strength is the keynote of the sport. This is done by utilizing superior leverage, grip and position upon your opponent.” Renzo Gracie

The first week, none of the techniques made sense to me, I felt lost, almost like I didn’t belong. To make things worse, a guy in the gym told me I couldn’t do anything and lacked the flexibility to improve. I had already been dealing with naysayers in my personal life. At the time I was 35 years old and I can’t count the times I’ve been told “aren’t you too old for this?” So that guy’s comment was a huge blow to confidence. I decided to seek advice from my coach and find out if I should quit. His advice, “give me six months, and then you can decide.” Six months later I received a third stripe to white belt and a year later, I earned my blue belt.

You see, I’m not too old and you are not too old, out of shape, girly, or whatever any of your naysayers tell you that you are. The only restrictions for being “in shape” and to do what you love are the restrictions you put on yourself! There is always a work around, always a way to achieve what you want. You need to believe in yourself and just BE!

Fast forward to today, I’m back in Lebanon, my first love, my home. I’m currently at Atos training where I’m continuing my journey under Daniel Hilal. Every training session I’m reminded that Jiu-Jitsu is not just a sport; it’s a therapy, a type of meditation. When I am on the mat I am ”me.”

This sport will give you a voice when you have none. Weakness is not an option you have to be strong. If you aren’t yet strong, you will become strong! Every women needs to defend herself from any type of abuse; physical or emotional. I know from personal experience that Jiu –Jitsu will build you to have the confidence and skills to defend yourself from both types of abuse. Jiu-Jitsu boosts your self-confidence. You will learn to defend yourself, and use people’s power against them. It’s an entire physical and mental workout. You will not only lose those extra pounds, more importantly, you will train your brain to be calm and find solutions for the toughest roadblocks in your journey.

Brazilian Jiu jitsu is not just sport; it’s a life style. It teaches ideas like respect, commitment, humbleness, persistency and care. All of which, are tools needed for a productive and purposeful life! Parents, enroll your daughters in those amazing martial arts classes, teach them to be strong and confident. Allow them to break the norms and let them know they can be self-sufficient. They will learn that they can stand up for themselves and navigate through the roadblocks of their lives.

For all the times I’ve heard: ”oh you are so strong! I wish I could be like you!”

Of course you can! You just have to believe in your capabilities! Be patient and never give up.

It is not an easy path. There were so many times I was frustrated and wanted to just give up. Instead I found myself on the mat doing those drills again and again and again, until I owned them!

Your Jiu-Jitsu community is supportive and empowering, you will have friends from all over the world and you are never alone. The Numbers are growing and the community is getting bigger and more and more women are enrolling. Why not you? Why not your daughters!?!

I’m in my late 30s, I’m a blue belt. I train 4 times a week and compete as often as possible. I know that if I can, you can too! There’s a saying in Jiu-Jitsu, “There is no losing in Jiu-Jitsu, you either win or you learn.” So, let’ start learning and we can navigate those roadblocks together!

Leave a Reply